Whatever can be happening at Apple?

Updating

My iPad crashed three times this evening whilst using iTunes Music. I was also getting warnings from time to time about running out of space, so I suspected the two things were connected. I deleted some apps I don’t use very often so had 700Mb free, but still had crashes and when I checked in Settings the free space had gone down to 300Mb.

So I connected it via cable to my MacBook, and on the summary tab it was reporting 5Gb free (This was after the OS X iTunes update reported below). I cleared out some data files in some of the music apps, and got this to over 7Gb free after a new sync.

Looking at usage on the iPad it’s now reporting 607Mb free whilst the MacBook it is still connected to is now reporting that it has 5.19Gb free. Looks like the IOS Music app is corralling free space in some way, but not letting on to the sync host.

The OS X update was more sad than confusing. As I plugged the iPad in I noticed an update had been downloaded and was waiting for permission to run. I looked in the updates tab of the “App Store” app (Whose icon had a red circle with a 1 in it) and no available downloads were listed. Without knowing which app was updating, I clicked on update and it asked to shut iTunes, so I did. As part of the decluttering that came with Yosemite, I often find myself feeling that I no longer know what’s going on when updates and downloads are occurring, nowhere could it be found. There used to be progress bars on the Applications icon or the App Store icon and there weren’t, so I assumed it had finished the update and clicked the iTunes icon in the dock only to receive the warning shown above. The meaning was clear so I just clicked the button and waited and it relaunched by itself in a minute or so.

The sad bit is that the message lines are written as they are, all capitals to make them stand out and linked by underscores so that they are all one word, because they are put at the top of the code file, after a #define statement thus :- #define UPDATING_LOCKED_TITLE “UPDATING_LOCKED_TITLE” or some such, so that the coder can continue coding until someone from the user interface design team tells them the proper message and they then change it to :- #define UPDATING_LOCKED_TITLE “Warning – file is being updated” or similar and everywhere in the code that the message is called, the correct text is substituted.

Apple have user interface design guides and style guides for coders, and buildings full of people who test and validate software and they used to matter. In this case :-

a). The approved message was never substituted, and

b). Nobody noticed.

It would seem that Apple Music has performance and reliability issues on IOS and is a space hog that doesn’t own up or clear up after itself. It would also seem that they are rushing out updates for the OS X iTunes app without checking it properly. I know it is a trivial thing to have let through, but the whole Apple ethos used to be “It just works”. Because they checked every little thing, we could safely assume that they had checked every big thing. That would seem to be no longer true.

Leave a Reply

